Join us on Discord! We now have an official Discord server for OpenFLIXR: https://discord.gg/PcCErTQ , these forums will continue to operate as normal.

Installation issues on Hyper-V

Hi, I tried now for 2 days to somehow install openflixr in Hyper-V, but there seems always be some kind of problem. I tried it now in several combinations to get it to run.

Oh and I am a Linux noob, so if I made a step wrong please tell me, as the chances are rather high :)

• at the beginning I convert the vhd into a vhdx. I was being told it has a little better performance.
  • after the initial boot of the official hyperv image is to let it wait until there seems to be no HDD and CPU usage anymore
  • change the keyboard layout to German (as my keyboard is German :D ) with:
dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration
service keyboard-setup restart
  • run "sudo updateopenflixr"

And there the issues are starting. It seems that it is in an update loop as it tries to install java8, which can't be found and there is an 404 error at the download. I canceled it with CTRL+C after 30 minutes of looping.

I also tried to manual update it with apk-get update and upgrade, it did not help and even threw more errors. At first I ignored it and run the setup, it crashed always at step 8 I think without any more information of why it crashed or maybe if it's done doing the setup. I didn't knew that there was a progress bar later so I proceeded with the web-part and started mounting my NAS etc. There the issues started to accumulate, as it got 403 errors and other stuff in the main site of openflixr. Ok, I stated from scratch again and thought that the culprit maybe is java.

Tried to fix the java issue by myself, removed the old java8 and the repository for apk and installed the latest one.