Join us on Discord! We now have an official Discord server for OpenFLIXR: https://discord.gg/PcCErTQ , these forums will continue to operate as normal.

Total Noob here!

I’m a complete noob to most of these services in OF. I have been scouring the forums here and I am sure I missed a lot. So I just figured I would start a new thread on my particular “challenges”.

I currently have a small vm farm on some old Dell server running Playon in a few VMs so I can record shows and movies from different services and a Plex media server to host all my media content. Right now everything is running on top of Windows. That is all I have right now.

Here is as far I have gotten:

• I used the OVA to install my create my instance of OF.
  • I followed the Google Doc created by jerenmywho to get everything “installed”. Great doc so far!

What brought me to OF is the single location upon which to manage so many things that I would LIKE to do. 

Ah heck, I don't even know the right settings for setting up HTPC Manager. When I go to HTPC manager > Settings, I am not sure if I should accept the defaults, what each thing will change, etc... Just trying to set the stage by demonstrating my level of understanding of OpenFLIXR.

I currently use ExpressVPN for other reasons and would like to know if I can use this for my VPN service on OF so that I may take advantage of torrent downloads. So can I use it?

Next, the torrents themselves. Not really sure how to configure any of the tools. I have used some desktop versions of torrent clients, but this is all greek to me. Hopefully no greeks were offended by my cliched phrase. Any recommendations on where to start?

Since I have an existing Plex server, what is the best possible solution for “transferring” all the TBs of media over to this new setup? 

So many more questions, but I think this would at least get me started. 

Thanks - Y

Comments